Techniques for Blooming, Young, Photographers

Rigg The Game In Your Favor!

0668a

You can’t improve upon perfection.  The only thing you CAN do, is accentuate features…  These Pansies are from Leslie’s garden.  That’s usless to you.  What you do need to know, is that all of her flowers are in pots!  That means I can transport them from outside, to inside, on a table near a window, to catch some outside light.  There, the plant is free from the swaying effect that wind can have on flowers.

If you’re taking a macro shot like the one above, any movement is greatly magnified, often resulting in blurry images.  Too much color can be bad for jpgs. over time, causing uneven, and unsightly discoloration.  In the case of flowers, the field is shallow, so depth of field is not so important.  This is an excellent opportunity to use: ‘contrast’ to bring out color instead!  I sometimes use a little spray bottle before I take the shot, to add interest.  Perks up the flower too!  And since pansies are small, and the droplets are big, they make a good candidate for that: ‘Fresh rain’ feeling…

Go for Lens Effects!

0660a

Here are some pansies, using a 24 mm wide angle lens from about 5 feet away…

0661a

Look at what happens to the perspective when you are only 1 foot away…  All proportions are exaggerated!  Now, they look like an angry mob!  Even if you’re out standing in your field because: ‘There’s a Nuke Hid in Town!’, if you love what you’re doing, and are willing to experiment, the results are bound to be good! 

A Labor of Love:

0647a

You would not believe how small this flower is.  However, at full size, the picture is a foot by a foot and a half.  So this little guy looks enormous at that size.  And it came covered in dirt specs less than a pin head in size, so quite invisable in the sun: where I was standing when I took this shot.

All you can do, is find the larges clear spot, and adjust your clone tool to that size, and start clicking away…  It took me a full hour to get it all!  I look at it this way.  Though the task seems enormous, with patience, it can be accomplished!  Some of the others were just as bad.  Like I always say: ‘It’s what you don’t see that brings on the perfection flowers so richly deserve! 

See how this leaves a clear space on the left for peoples icons: a good idea to keep in mind, if you like desktop pictures.  Some peole do and some don’t.  So, once in a while is all that’s necessary.  These shots would all still be clear at 18″ x 24″.  If you intend to make any hard copies, be sure and convert the file from RGB to CMYK.

0651a

Here’s the orchid from afar…  Beautiful isn’t it?  Orchids are very fussy and hard to grow!  Most people just over water them and they die from root rot.  You should water them once every three weeks, give them indirect sun, and never spray them!  This does well as an indoor plant.  Expensive though.  This one cost me $22, plus thumb tax!

0663a

Be sure and view all these at full size!  They are perfect macros: I’m using a half life size, Canon 50 mm. lens in conjuction with tubing, to give me up to twice life size, which is pretty close!  I prefere tubbing because having no added glass between you and your subject, hence means, no degregation in quality.  Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Techniques for Blooming, Young, Photographers

  1. Your photos are breathtaking, Darrell…didn’t know you had so many flowers..pansies are and always have been my favourite flower…loved these pics and all the work you put into them…left me stunned all the way round! love, Katie.

    • Ahhh… You’re just saying that because it’s true! (Turning purple!). If you check out my ‘Photos’ category, you’ll find lots more! (Sits up in chair, proudly thirsting for another cup of tea!) Thank you for, as usual, comments I can frame and put up on my wall! Kisses: D.

  2. Darrell, oh wow!! You really have talent with a camera!! I was blown away by your images. You really should focus on that camera of yours to bring JOY to your Life and to others!!! You really are good! (((HUGS))) Amy ❤

    • I was hoping you’d be furious, and filled with envy. Don’t try to hit me! If you hit me, I’ll call The Police! I don’t know what I’ll call The Police, but I’ll think of something!

      Look at: The General’s Log’ and where it says: ‘Select Category’, Look for ‘Photos’ and you should find a whole lot of ‘focus’ there. Also, there’s stuff I’ve made from scratch in my: ‘Graphic Designs’ category. Yes I’ve had JOY… She was pretty good! Yes, I’ve had ‘others’ too! Is this a survey of some kind? LOL!

Leave a Reply

