Anatomy of a Band

0153a

Introduction:

More than just: ‘Let’s do this…’

It can be a great illusion when people frefer to members of a band as: ‘Players’…  To say that we ‘play’ an instrument is an understatement.  Good Musicians let their instruments play with them!  Just look at what you can set up on an amp now-a-days, and you begin to get some idea of the different set ups and effects one can achieve.  This is my larger ‘Pevey’ amp.  It pumps out 30 watts (whats?).  Well it does some serious power amping, and can sound ranchy, normal, echo, time delay, and a host of other combinations.  This is definately an amp you find yourself fiddling with a lot!  So for one thing, you have to be a bit of a technician.  It does have a memory bank listed at the bottom of the picture above, as presets 1, 2, 3, and 4…  That way, you can easily flip to a sound you need.  To start to find a normal sound, you have to start by setting your ‘stompbox to: ‘Bypass’ so no effect is in fact in effect.  There’s a bypass on the ‘effects’ knob as well…

0165a

My Babies

Touch and Percision

I prefer greatly to play an electric guitar as apposed to an accustic one for a few reasons.  One of which is that the action (how close the strings are to the neck), is far better.  The strings are more flexible on an electric, and because of the many sounds and stumming techniques that just won’t work well with an accustic guitar.  Yet this is the least expensive of my worries.  It is an Epiphoine copy of a Les Paul, and cost me $700 three years ago.  His name is : ‘Edward’…

0267a

This is: ‘Clairabelle’  She’s been my girl for 22 years now.  She’ has great curves and comes onto me more often than not!  She is a special addition Martin.  Only 24 of these were made.  She uses up a lot of my energy, so I like to use her for soft songs of romance and murder…  This guitar, I bought in Detriot for $3500 American.  Sometimes we have sex when nobody’s lookin!

0264a

Singing can be exhausting!  Some songs are so fast, that you are literally tapped of breath by the time you finish them!  However, I seem to bewitch myself when I sing, which only adds to the flavor of my voice.  I’m greatly pleased how quiting smoking so greatly improved my depth and range!  As any real band member will tell you: playing music while you sing, is really a form of exercise.

0334a

Then There’s the Getting Along Part

Sometimes I just wanna rip their heads off

Above is a picture of Two Dogs and me…  Notice that he’s left handed so our guitars face in oposite directions.  Sometimes Two Dogs refuses to harmonize, or looses it or something.  So I like to call him: ‘Tone deaf…’  Sometimes he looses where he’s going on guitar as well, and it really pops my cork!

IMG_4741

Here is a picture of The Mad Man’s drums…  Sort of…  He does have a big set with lots of symbols, and sometimes a tamborine on the high hat.  Him I have to correct when he tries to tell use what amps to use.  Two Dogs Bass amp puts out 120 watts.  There’s no reason he needs to use my equipment.  So I tell him to go wait for a bus!  ‘Find an Out-house to sniff!’  Something…  If he starts shouting at me, I just smile and it makes him laugh.

0332a

Timing is Everything

No!  It’s 1, 2, 3, 4!

I would rather be out of tune and in time than the other way round.  If you aren’t ‘tight’ as a band, you may just as well pack up and go home.  There are six amps because we use two for mics…  Our dream is to get a real PA system and a Mixer. The Mad Man is apparently going to buy the PA system and have Two Dogs and me pay him back our share on a payment plan.  Boy!  Will he ever be mad when we tell him we only have a grand total of $1.27!

Here is a gallery of print sized jpgs., inluding these, in case you want to print anything or shink it to desktop size, sell them and make a small fortune.  I wouldn’t mind a few million bucks of my own ya know!  I’ll bet you every band’s favorite Beatle song is: ‘The One After 909′  LOL!  Apparently, the band: The Decrepits’ will have a new member soon.

10 thoughts on “Anatomy of a Band

  1. A bunch of my thoughts over the past couple of months has revolved around what guitar I want to buy. Keep in mind I’ve never actually played guitar. I’ve played with them and it actually sounded pretty decent, but never got scales or tabs down. Tell me what chords I need to know and I can pretty much figure out the rest.
    And that was close to forty years ago. Long before arthritis started to goad my fingers into bursts of semi-spasmodic behavior.
    That alone starts me to deciding on a 12 string. Leave the melodic stuff to the more accomplished musicians. I fully comprehend that their is much more to rhythm guitar than the correct frets on the proper stings. And there’s much more to it than just strumming up and down in 4/4 or 3/4 beats. And there’s always more than one way to do even that little.
    So… it’s between an Epiphone and an Oscar Schmidt 12 string acoustic-electric. Either way it’s gonna run me about $200.00, which is fine considering I’m really just starting out. I like the sound of an acoustic; the electric can build on top of that sound very effectively.
    The Epiphone has a passive pre-amp, which is an obvious drawback, so I’m leaning heavily towards the Oscar Schmidt. I know the company has a decent history, seems to be highly regarded in its class, and if I ever deserve to touch anything close to a Martin it will make a lovely birthday present some time in the future (in case my kids are reading this).
    Might start playing with the church band, but it’s largely for me.
    If nothing else, I spent almost twenty years behind a desk working my brain to the bone, and since retiring I think it would behoove me to learn something new other than how to brush my teeth and comb my hair with my left hand.

    I really like your thoughts on “players” needing to be so much more.
    B.B. King and Eric Clapton have their signature sounds, but they can so effortlessly adapt them when called for. Or when need be. Or when the urge hits. Jimi was in a class by himself.
    The guy that never fails to knock my socks off is Stephen Stills. I think he kind of leans more towards being a pure musician than being a guitar player in the sense you explain.
    Can’t think of anyone in rock who can do so much with an acoustic and it’s almost the purity of the sound that gets me. Often no frills or fancies in his electric work, but a very controlled stroll into the engineering side of it all.

    Gotta look through your stuff more deeply to find more thoughts you have shared.

    • Eric Clapton. There’s another great guitarist! I think it’s great owning a twelve sting. Very full sound! I’m Beatles nuts! True. I also do a lot of Neil Young though, a few Stones songs, a couple of Cat Steven songs, Jim Croche, Bruce Colburn, Stairway to Heaven, Eagles, and a few others, plus my own songs. So I round out the band very well that way.

  2. Hey …
    quick question about Edward:
    my understanding is that “Les Paul” these days refers basically to the body shape of the guitar. The design. Not necessarily, if at all, the materials or the pick-ups or the pre-amps, or ultimately the quality or sound. It seems like almost everyone has some variety of Les Paul to offer, and I’m sure there are as many variations on that as you will find choices of straps. Or picks. Or straps and picks.
    I’ve heard that Gibson bought out Epiphone, or Epiphone bough out Gibson, or whatever, and just wondering if the “newer generations” of the legend live up to the legacy in your ears and mind.

    And not so quick a story:
    way back in ’71 a friend of mine was looking for a left-handed Les Paul. Was having a hard time finding one seeing as how he wanted to go as far back to the originals as he could.
    I was living in northwest New Jersey at the time (not my idea, I assure you) in a relatively small town that had a hole-in-the-wall music store in the town square. Most of its revenue was from special ordering LPs that were too outstanding and esoteric to be carried by the mass merchandisers.
    Also carried some instruments, usually bargains the guy picked up at a pawn shop, cleaned up, tuned and sold for a modest profit. Maybe four or five keys worth of Hohners.
    Had to ask, for no reason whatsoever other than to help a brother out. So I went in one day while I was supposed to be in Group (I had torched one walking into town, would have been asked to leave anyway) and asked the owner if he ever came across any Les Pauls.
    “I got one as a matter of fact, really good price, but ….”
    “Well, I’m looking for a left-handed model, somewhat vintage, so ….”
    “… buuuuuuut … the one I have is a left-handed model, 1953.”
    My friend wired me the money that night from Tucson where he was at the U of A.
    Let’s skip ahead. About 1993 or so..
    Jimmy, my friend, decided to have a master craftsman down in Austin restore the guitar to its original specs, design, color … whatever was needed to make it factory fresh.
    They refinished it in its original wheat/gold color to a mirror gloss. Beautiful job, quite a bit more elegant than the bargain basement orange/yellow sunburst it had been.
    Jimmy was told that the original wheat/gold color came off as too white on early-’50s B&W TVs and would bleed all over the screen, so they were often refinished for that reason alone.
    The craftsman also did some more research while trying to verify and match the original color:
    only three left-handed Les Pauls were made in 1953.
    Jimmy now had one.
    The craftsman could not find out who had the second.
    The third was owned by the Estate of James Marshall Hendrix.
    As much as I love Jimmy, I don’t figure it sounds as good as Jimi’s did, but it’s been with him a lot longer than any of his wives were.

    • And your question is? LOL! Good grief Prodigal Son! Your comments are like posts! They’re enormous! Not that I mind to read them… Interesting ‘music story’…

      Les Paul has given share to a lot of guitar companies! The thing’s fractured indefinately, as you said. It does make it difficult to find a real Les Paul these days.

      My first copy was a: Raven’, and like the bird, all black (right handed). I like changing up my rhythms throughout certain songs and found this guitar to be A-1 for ease of play, great depth of sound and lasting quality. Oddly enough, I was so content with buying remakes, I never did own a real Les Paul… Anyway, I find they satisfy my requirements, so there’s been a good job done in capturing an original Les Paul’s ease of play.

      I have played a Les Paul of corpse, and the remakes don’t quite stack up… Was smooth as silk! Right away I felt freed up, and is why I always went with some kind of remake of Les Paul. They’re like the ‘Strats’ of rhythm guitars…

      Hold on to that rare guitar of yours! Must be an amazing guitar! 1953??? I’m only one year older and I’m falling apart! How is it they make guitars to outlast mere mortals?

      Oh and thank you once again for the interesting read!

      LOL! I always think my cat is itchy under all that fur, so I scratch him all over his head and neck. And now he actually grabs my hand with his paw if I try to leave. LOL! I’m being held against my will while I’m trying to type using my two speedy fingers. I used to know how to type but my nerves just won’t allow me to type properly anymore… Government puppet Doictors won’t give me enough Clanazopam to make life easier for me. Of corpse not! That would be braking the rule of: ‘Pharmacies are only here for show…’
      As we age, the word: Pharmacy’ is like a desperate cry through the wilderness for help :O(

Leave a Reply

