Staying The Course

Social Networking

_Networking

I don’t see that: ‘Life is what you make it’ so much as what it makes of you.  I could have the best attitude there is.  But if I don’t see the bigger picture, I won’t be able to open the right doors.  In other words, experience teaches us how to implement it into our character, and manifest the results in real ways, for real people!.

It’s not just a matter of saying I’ll help others, and then handing out chocolate bars!  I must prioritize who needs my help most, and then how to tactfully administer what kind of help they need, in a way that maintains both their dignity, and my own.  If the truth hurts, how do you administer it without hurting someone? 

If you think someone is annoying, you don’t out-rightly tell them that!  You tell them that you think you are annoying, and ask them how you could go about solving the problem.  This way, you teach them how to teach themselves, and avoid them closing their ears and bruising their dignity.  Andy of Mayberry was very good at that!  So tactfulness in helping others with their problems is a very good way to make friends!  And making friends is the most important part about social networking…

Is everyone entitled to their own opinion?

_impossible-quote-1

See, I believe that the impossible is something that can be made possible, if we just change the rules under which a person, place or thing functions!  It was impossible to get me to clean my room until my Mother told me that I could go without dinner if I failed to do so!  So when I got hungry enough, I suddenly wanted to clean my room, thereby making the impossible possible!

So no!  I don’t think you’re entitled to your own opinion if it’s a stupid one.  I could be of the opinion that I no longer need to look for traffic before I cross the road, because I have ears, and can hear cars coming.  Sounds right, but did I think it out properly?  What if someone’s just turning a corner when I step out into the road?  I might not hear that!  What if someone is fiddling with their radio, and I’m slowly loosing my hearing?  What if?  So don’t be duped into thinking because you have an opinion to express, that everyone’s going to think you’re entitled to it.  You had better be right, or what purpose does it serve?

Truth is our Teacher…

_the truth is quotes (1)

Why do we avoid the truth?  Compliments may make you feel good alright.  But they don’t teach you anything about how to progress!  Will placing blame solve the problem? Do I expect friends if I don’t go out and make them?

Once I told someone that a line in their poem didn’t fit with the rest  I also pointed out what did fit, and praised the rest of the poem so this person could keep his dignity.  Later, I received a reply thanking me for leaving a comment he actually found useful!  What’s the moral?  If you sound like everybody else, you’re going to be treated like everybody else…  Ignored…  Respect isn’t an entitlement!  So be constructive when you comment, and add to what’s already there.

Staying the course?  ‘Oh that poem’s so beautiful!’ comments.  Yes!  And?  They already know it’s worthwhile. If you thought it was all so beautiful, you might have went on to ask: ‘Could you help me to write poems like this?’   You probably would have gained a friend for life!  I’m asking you to stay the course, learn from experience, and apply that.  BTW, was able to condense, by more than 300 words :O)

4 thoughts on “Staying The Course

  1. If it wasn’t you, it was someone else who told me to take a line out of my poem that didn’t fit. Very helpful, you are right! Sometimes though, if I’m having a bad day, it helps to just see, “great poem!” That’s just me, though. Truth can hurt, but sometimes truth can feel pretty good. But it always comes with a dose of freedom.

    • No. It wasn’t me. And I don’t think it’s just you. Most people would rather be boosted when they’re down. Mentioning that you are down would cushion most responses I expect.

      I once had a teacher who always knew how to take away my bad mood. On a day he saw that I was feeling low, he asked me what I liked best. I told him: ‘Astronomy’… So he made me do a discourse about it in front of the class. It sure made me forget about my mood :O)

      How do I know it wasn’t me? I only suggested removing one word: ‘all’… It corrected a slight in onomatopoeia, yet still maintained the structure of the line. I love what you said about truth always encapsulating freedom!

  2. Reblogged this on galesmind and commented:
    I love for people to give me the truth specially about my poems. It might sting but if it helps to make my thoughts clearer or to increase the beauty of the words then it helps me improve. An opinion is just that if it isn’t helpful it is better to keep it to yourself. Lots to think about in this.

Leave a Reply

