Turn That Crap Down!

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (AP) — A 47-year-old software developer was convicted Saturday of attempted murder for shooting into a car-full of teenagers after an argument over what he called their “thug music,” but jurors couldn’t agree on the most serious charge of first-degree murder.

This is way too extreme!

    Have you ever heard loud music coming from a car, that might be rap or might be supremacy music, or hate music with swearing in it, or even just obnoxiously loud, and got peeved off at it?  Me too…  However, never would my angst be so furious, as to actually take a gun and shoot dead, a 19 year old boy sitting in the car!  In fact, I don’t pay too much never mind to it; they usually drive away, or I turn my music up and have a fun music war.  It’s not such a big deal!  We all pretty much did the same thing at that age.  Right?

In my day (about 3 eons ago), our parents would just yell out: ‘TURN THAT CRAP DOWN!’  I would say to myself: [What’s wrong with Beatles music, and just put ear phones on.]  I even went so far as to get a Beatles hair cut, wore Beatles boots, and bought a Naru jacket.  People got peeved at me about that too, and would scream out: ‘FAGGET!’ or ‘GET A JOB!’ or ‘REPENT AND FIND JESUS!’  Well, I had a job after school, shinning shoes in front of a local watering hole.  Jesus was nowhere to be found, and I wasn’t gay at all.  As a matter of fact, my get up, along with my song writing talent, and voice attracted the girls like flies!  So none of what they thought was true…

He did get four counts of second degree murder however, and each carries a sentence between 15 and 30 years!  I am shocked to the core, and I’m sure it hits home with you as well!  Our children are our most precious commodity!  And I know what it feels like to grieve over the loss of them.  That’s what caused my Depression to greatly escalate!  And I’m certain you haven’t met a single teen that wasn’t seeking out their own identity.  What is this world coming too?  Are we really becoming this intolerant?  Sad!  Sad and pathetic!  Read the entire story here:

 http://www.thestar.com/news/world/2014/02/15/split_verdict_in_florida_loud_music_murder_trial.html   And then if you like, scream out to your teen: ‘TURN THAT CRAP DOWN!’  LOL!  But certainly no more that this…  I wonder if it was Depression that drove him to it?  See why I sometimes think outside of the box, and actually seek unconventional ways to understand my illness, and keep it under control, using things like discipline and insight, instead of just masking the symptoms with ‘Happy Pills’?

Michael Dunn

2 thoughts on “Turn That Crap Down!

  1. well, living in Kolkata I can guess why some people loathe too loud sound, music etc. You should live in Kolkata for a few years, and hear all the horn happy drivers, cracker obsessed thugs and loudspeaker crazy people. human ears are not made for cacophony- they are meant for listening.

    if they are pushed too far, one will certainly go off handle now and then.

Leave a Reply

