Photographing Figurines

_MG_4178

Setting Up

I had fully intended to take macro shots of all these glass figurines.  It turns out that I hadn’t accounted for my 50 mm macro lens as it is.  It will take clear shots from 1.8 feet away, without any help from tubing at all.  That means that some of these figurines, although small, were not suitable as macro shots.  I did take 3 or 4 macro shots with just the smallest tube attached.  Even so, when you can get close, every little speck shows up so you have to shoot for a super clean environment.

So wouldn’t you know it…  Just as I was about to start taking pictures, Cody came out and wanted to cook something in the oven.  I tried to tell him it was no good, that food particles would float through the air and land on my work-zone.  He just looked at me funny and said: “Well, I’m hungry…”  Oh you dirty!!  It was 2 in the afternoon!  So I was a little peeved through the whole thing.  Stuff did land on my table.  I took some of it out, but there’s just too much to get it all, without a knife and a fork…  I did my best though and I think these are good enough to display.  The above shot was taken from 6 feet away, using a 24mm to 105mm zoom lens, just to show you the original layout.

_MG_4180

Reflecting light through glass

I had to clean off every figurine with Windex glass cleaner and used a flash to reflect back some of the light through the glass.  Even that there is ambient light through-out the house, you won’t get this kind of brilliance without a flash…  Or, you can always just take it outside.  That’s allowed.  People will look at you funny, come up to you and ask all sorts of dumb questions…  So use your back-yard for that if you don’t have a flash…  Most cameras come equipped with them.  Of corpse I had to buy mine separately for $500.  Never the less, it has good coverage.  And this is my favorite lens for clarity: 50 mm. macro.

_MG_4181

Playing with light

Opening the aperture of your lens to even 5.6 and you can make a dazzling light display like this.  Obviously, light is reflecting everywhere!  That was just the effect I wanted to achieve…  So the flash and all that cleaning really paid off in spades.  Although, I never knew the surface of this stand had the chicken pox, there are so many lumps and bumps…  You’ll see, as we move along here.

_MG_4186

Intricate Patterns

With this one, I liked how the glass was all woven together and also, the two birds at the top.  Here, you begin to see some of the lumps and specks on the table, even though I cleaned it with the best No Name furniture polish on the market; “With a brand new fruity scent!”  Little things show up now that wasn’t in plain sight to me before…  The bottom mirror looks all scratched up on one side, and there’s a couple of moon-sized craters around the rim!

_MG_4199

Expensive Stuff on Display

These two figurines above, are “Royal Dalton’s” and go back about a hundred years!  They cost $40 each back then.  I’m sure today, they’d be worth well over $200 each…  They are beautifully crafted, even for back then!  I can appreciate the work that went into them; all hand painted…

_MG_4205

Making Major Repairs

This fairy was filthy!  Even that I cleaned her, there were all these tiny black specks all over her legs and arms that made this picture look like a disaster.  Not so…  We may summon: “The Smudge Tool”.  It hangs out with the blur tool if you click the drop-down arrow on the tool bar.  I just dragged it along her legs, making sure it was the same width, and I was able to build muscle tone with the specks and smudges and recue the day.  When specks are too compact to remove with the healing brush, the smudge tool is the tool to turn to.  I even used the smudge tool to quickly go over the walls in the above shot, to vanquish any stains lines or pock marks.  It’s a very versatile tool!

_MG_4196

I Polished Up The Silver

I thought these looked quite interesting, so I got out the silver polish (Made from a unique blend of special pond water) and shined up some silver as well…  Consequently, Photographers don’t get paid for this.  It’s considered natural at home, to polish up the silver-ware anyway.  Again, the lid on the left container was full of spots beyond human visibility, so I was able to us the smudge tool once again, to create a natural looking, shiny effect.  Here’s a gallery of the shooting.  lol!  Is there a Doctor in The House?  And here, I forgot to remove the discoloration from the edge of the table.

Then, if things weren’t bad enough, I noticed a smudge on the table, I guess that I made moving stuff around, a problem!  And I think I ruined the last picture trying to fix it up…  Nothing seemed to go right at all, after Cody insisted on cooking a Brontosaurus, just when I was ready to begin!  OH I GET SO MAD!!!  So here is a gallery of my dirty, stinky, pictures… lol!

5 thoughts on “Photographing Figurines

    • It’s certainly OK by me if someone wants to eat… When you can’t wait an hour ’til I’m done, and it’s not just this. He’s in my face all the time! When I need the crapper, he’s in there for a long time… When I want the kitchen, it’s always occupied by him. When I want to shop, he’s there, just ahead of me; like he’s trying to race back to the stove before I get there… Ridiculous! I though out his “ton” of garbage every day, clean up his monumental messes in the kitchen. I’ve had it! Since when did I become his slave?

  1. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn anything like this before. So good to find someone with some authentic thoughts on this subject. realy thank you for starting this up. this website is one thing that is wanted on the net, someone with slightly originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the web!

  2. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

