Website Construction

The Worm Hole_Splash_Screen

This would be an example of a splash Page I didn’t make.  I just added the words…  Emmm, some people use them.  I know they add excitement to your site, look real cool, and give people the feeling that they’re entering a different place.  And here-in lies the problem; what with Trojans out there, virus scares and malware and such, a lot of people were feeling uneasy about them, and NOT hitting the “Enter” button, arrow or word because they took it more like they were leaving a place of safety.  See, when you factor in  “The Unknown”  disposition it possesses, this is why I don’t fussy them, and feel they’re becoming redundant.

Green Ghost

Release Yourself from The Chains

Everything else hence-forth, including the picture above, is mine, and you my have it to do with as you wish, or any other page I have here or construct in the future here, if you so desire.  “Wait though” you say. “This is too big and it’s backwards for word press!  The side-panel is on the wrong side.  I know this, and I’m going to tell you how to correct the problem and have a few others included for practice on, if you want them…  Sneaky aren’t I?  I try to make you do stuff: “GO TO THE WINDOW!”

Strictly_Blue

Getting Down To It

Nice eh?  Too bad you can’t use…  But you can!  And don’t worry, I’ve made some ARE just about the right size (Header too) and has the side bar on the left side so you can actually load them up as a background.  Just be sure to select the header and extract that to load it up separately.  Firstly though, there’s this wrong looking everything…  So first, let’s go into Photoshop with it and turn it around so the column on the left, will be on the right.  Go into your layers palate and right-click the background layer and choose: “Make layer from background.

Now go into your Edit menu and choose “Free Transform”.  A bounding box with handles should now surround your page.  The neat thing about this tool in this particular mode, is that it can make perception from your pictures.  To turn it around, you’re going to grab the upper, left handle with your selection tool (the black one at the top of your tool box) and drag it all the way over to where the right handle is, and do exactly the same with the bottom handles…  You have now effectively mirrored your image.

It’s still the wrong size you say?  Go into your Windows menu and bring up your navigation pallet if it isn’t already there.  Now go into the Edit menu again only this time, choose”  Transform/Scale.  Grab the upper left side handle and begin scaling down your page.  As you do so, keep a close eye out in the Navigation Pallet, where your “Y” and “X” coordinates are.  They will tell you precisely how tall by how wide your page is respectively.  Stop when you get to about 1200 x 960.  And there you have it.

WordPress_Ladies_Night

And this is the way it should look if you’re a girl…  LOL!  I know you feel you don’t HAVE to look girly.  Though if you’re selling a feminine product, it might be advisable to play the part just the same.  I try to keep everything flat at the bottom, so it will tile properly when you load it up.  Any file that has the word “wordpress” in it, is designed to specs. for use in WordPress.  This looks a little dressy.  You can dress them a bit but be careful to leave plenty of room for your pictures, paragraphs, and buttons.  Less is better because you don’t want to call attention to how the web-page itself was made, but the material you include on your pages.

WordPress_Poetry_Page

Don’t you feel better now?

So there you have it; elegant but simple.  The flourish (top left) is actually a paint brush.  Anyway, the side panels should be wide enough for your widgets.  I know some of you were requesting that, so here you are…  If they don’t fit perfectly (they should), experiment by resizing; backgrounds can be reloaded with no problem, as long as you take the other one off first.  To cut off your header (Oooo!  Sounds so romantic!  LOL!) we’re going to cut it out to its own layer with a keyboard shortcut or two.  Then trash all the other layers, go into your Layers menu and choose Flatten, to turn it back into a back ground.

If the glass ones seem too dark to you; Make a new layer directly above it (it’s that file doohickey icon on the bottom of your layers pallet), using your paint bucket tool, fill it with a white foreground.  Then choose screen mode at the top of your layers pallet, and that should brighten it up for you; move the opacity button to taste, flatten and save.

Just one more thing and you’re there!

Select the entire rounded rectangle, with another rounded rectangle.  This should give you a “Shape Layer” just above it.  Ctrl click the white rounded rectangle mask in your layers pallet, and that should select the whole header for you in your picture.  Then hit Ctrl j and that should send it to its own layer.  Place all other layers in your trash can at the bottom of the layers pallet, choose: Flatten in your Layers menu, name it and save it as a jpg in a place you’ll remember it for your web-site projects.  Enjoy!

255 thoughts on “Website Construction

    • And you ought to win a prize for saying just what someone wants to hear! I did win a contest of sorts; Me and 6 other bloggers. It was just a thing but it was cute, because you had to acknowledge 14 other bloggers yourself, and a couple of other things. My prize was a big gold sun I don’t have, on this particular header. Yes, I was proud of that. and always will be :O)

  1. Hey excellent website! Does running a blog like this require a massive amount work? I have absolutely no expertise in programming but I had been hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyway, should you have any ideas or tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I just had to ask. Cheers!

  2. Good day very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your website and take the feeds additionally? I am satisfied to find a lot of useful info right here in the post, we need work out extra strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing. . . . . .

  3. Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a outstanding job!

  4. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The text in your article seem to be running off the screen in Opera. I’m not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to do with web browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know. The layout look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon. Thanks

    • Interesting. Fausto; Why don’t you and I perform a little experiment. I’ll write my next blog with my “Writer” program instead. If that doesn’t correct the problem, I’ll try reformatting my material. Thank you so much for bringing this to my attention! You are both a scholar and a gentleman…

    • Thank you Angelica! I didn’t know my influence was becoming so out-reaching… Silly me. I’m on The Internet and should have known. I’m always good with crowds! I’m always fashioned into something or other… LOL!

  5. Wow, incredible blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your web site is great, let alone the content!

  6. With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright violation? My blog has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any techniques to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d certainly appreciate it.

    • First off Herbert… May I call you Herb? Emmm… You actually want to be spread around The Internet, to bring attention to your site. So it might not be “all” bad for you. And you look to me like a man in desperate need of a program like Adobe Bridge or Lightroom. There within the meta-data of the file, you’ll find a dialog box for entering your copy-write information: Such as under what conditions your material can be used for, if at all. Or, only provide a few samples, and join WordPress.org to sell the rest. They’re more plugin friendly there as well. Hope this can be of some assistance to you.

  7. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts in this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Reading this info So i’m satisfied to convey that I’ve a very excellent uncanny feeling I found out just what I needed. I such a lot certainly will make certain to do not forget this site and provides it a look on a continuing basis.

    • Thank you Willis; I’ll continue to try and bring you the highest quality content that I can! I’m so pleased to assist… If some of you would pass my site around to Artistic type people, my tiny site would grow exponentially!

  8. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the knowledge you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, great site!

  9. I simply could not leave your site prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual info a person provide for your visitors? Is gonna be again regularly in order to check out new posts

    • Thank you Arthur; it’s just hard to deal with all this success and not feel like a big shot. You know? LOL! Don’t worry though. I work diligently every day, trying to be as tiny as possible! I’ll keep working on the “good job” part. My writing still needs improvements.

  10. Wonderful website you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any forums that cover the same topics discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of group where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Cheers!

    • Google: “Photoshop Exchange” I think you’ll find a good forum there… If you’d prefer to pick and choose, Google: “Photoshop Forums” or better yet, for web-site construction, Google: “Dreamweaver Forums”

  11. A person necessarily help to make critically articles I’d state. This is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I amazed with the research you made to create this actual post incredible. Magnificent task!

  12. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thanks a lot

    • Hi Marta; First off, my blog theme is greyscale. This is a free website configuration from WordPress, that is “Photography oriented. That includes the grey areas and the text I write on theme. It also includes the ability to set up menus and destinations within them, and widgets; the calendar, the music player, the RSS feeds are all widgets that appear on the right of my screen.

      It also includes customizable backgrounds you can choose from your own drive. I blurred this camouflage background to give the illusion of depth(it looks like everything else is floating above it. The pattern itself, I generated using a plugin filter I installed in Photoshop CS3. They also allow you to design and provide your own Header. They are supposed to be 1010 px. wide by 288 px. tall.

  13. I am really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one these days.

    • Ya know? You’re right! I’m the greatest… It’s informative, diverse, and offers FREE computer CRAP, that IS original at that! Hale your King: ‘Lord Muck!’ As humble a King in the mud as there ever was!

  14. I really love your website.. Great colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself? Please reply back as I’m
    hoping to create my own personal website and would love to find out where you got
    this from or what the theme is called. Thank you!

    • This one is FREE, and is called: ‘The Visual Theme’. I’m with WordPress.com Google search: wordpress.com.login, and you can build your site from there. I put up the blog, the background, The Header image I made myself, and my awards. The rest, wordpress allows me to do through its ‘Dashboard.’ There is where all the controls and widgets for your website are situated. I hope you found this helpful! Thanks for the compliment Lenard! Cheers!

  15. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I am happy
    that you shared this helpful information with us.
    Please stay us up to date like this. Thank you for sharing.

  16. My developer is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress
    on numerous websites for about a year and am worried about
    switching to another platform. I have heard fantastic things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  17. Hi, Neat post. There is a problem together with your website in internet explorer, could check this?
    IE still is the marketplace leader and a
    huge component of other folks will miss your excellent writing because
    of this problem.

    • No doubt! Explorer never did do me any favors… I’m out of the mainstream hopefully, so some Extremist doesn’t quite agree with something I’ve said somewhere, doesn’t wipe me out with a computer flu: ‘There’s transgression in a multitude of words’ – The Bible. Say! Doesn’t The Bible contain a multitude of words too? Awe! A conundrum! I like to see what you’ll do with that! I assure you, with my finances, it’s better for me to be a big fish in a little Pond. Cheers and thank you for your concern. I’ll check out how it looks on IE just the same; see if there isn’t something I can tweak…

  18. My spouse and I stumbled over here different web page and thought I might as well
    check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to finding out about your web page yet again.

Leave a Reply

