Daddy Long Legs

IMG_0234-small

I know.  Spiders give me the creeps too.  It’s part and parcel with this story though, perhaps, in more ways than one.

Something I Witnessed

I think I may have told you before, that I used to be (about an eon ago), a Jehovah’s Witness.  And, to tell you the tooth. there were some very well dressed Witnesses that got a lot of doors slammed in their face.  I, on the other hand, looked stupid enough to be a Witness.  LOL!  It was that or lose my children, and I love my children; I lost them anyway.  So how come, they don’t come after their lost sheep as Jesus instructed them to do?  The rich are involved.  And that’s when things start to get cloudy :O(

The big conference

It’s a grueling procedure.  Twice a year, you have to pick up your family and go to a 3 day conference assembly.  They used to provide lunches, by now though, you had to bring your own.  Since this particular event was going to be near North Bay, I decided to make it a camping event via Miriam’s (my wife’s) suggestion.  We were about 50 miles away from the assembly point, so we had to get up at 6:30, if we expected to make an 8:30 am. dead-line.

The scorching sun

WE arrived at the conference on the first day, at about 8am.  And already, the sun was blisteringly hot!  Not a breeze, just stillness and heat!  Brian, at the time was 6.  He fell down in the dirt parking lot and began to cry (surrounded by dust cloud).  I picked him up ,and brushed him off, and said: “Hey! we’re both men right?  We can take it!”  He said: “It’s the suit daddy!  I can’t breathe!  So I said: “Look!  We can loosen your tie.  (I loosened his tie).

It was an outdoor stadium, so the sun continued to pound down on us all day!  And we were all miserable!  We saw everyone else had those little, hand held fans… We were trying to always position ourselves in hopes of sucking some cool air back…  The following day, I had fans for all of us; Elliot (3), Brian (7) and Jennifer (11)  Miriam (31) and me, (38).

That first night

We were all exhausted from the heat.  As we began to bed down at the camp site: “Samuel Champlain”  I asked the question that would determine the out-come of this entire story:  “Where should I hang my suit up?  It will get all wrinkled in the tent!  So Miriam said:  Why don’t you hang it up on the tree branch out-side…  At the time, it sounded logical enough to me, so I did.

Morning Breaks

Somewhat in a stupor, we had to be up by 6 am if we hoped to get there at the conference by 8am., taking the kids into consideration.  So I grab my suit from the tree and hustle my sorry soul down to the washroom to get dressed.  As soon as I put my leg in the pants, about a dozen Daddy Long Legs came running out!  I quickly pulled my leg back out and checked for cling ons!  I shook my Zoot Suit, and about 4 more came running out!  I immediately stuck my head in my pants to check for more, and when I pulled it out, there in the mirror, was a spider, right on top of my head!  LOL!

Day 2

This is a good snooze day for most of the men.  LOL!  Mwah?  Is also included?  The sun blistered down, just as before…  I’s take periodic breaks and splash cold water from the fountain, onto my children’s faces, just to give them a breather.  That sun though, kept beating down and my head would fall. and I’d get a jab in the ribs…  Heck Fire might soon ensue…  I must wake up!

Day 3

As though we’d all had a breakfast of champions, we all weathered the conditions like real champions do.  My children said: “No thanks Daddy Long Legs, we can find the fountain by ourselves; so I told Jennifer (The oldest), you look out for them! Understand?  She just nodded, like the artillery force we’d now become; she’d salute me and say: “I Cap’n! perhaps I could suck you dry for a quarter?”  And I, like a true Cap’n would reply, and bring back a “freezy” for the rest of us too…

And as we drove home I thought to myself: [ They’d never have made it, if not for: “Daddy Long Legs”, and his helping legs… Uhhh…. hand!  Don’t ask me if I miss them or I will cry…]   So what’s the moral?  Sometimes we can be made afraid of things, yet we can over-come them; even if we’re just a small boy at the time…

_MG_2106

12 thoughts on “Daddy Long Legs

  1. Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting
    company you’re using? I’ve loaded your blog in 3 completely different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker
    then most. Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a fair
    price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  2. Ηave you ever thiught about including a little bitt
    more than just youіr articles? I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    But thіnk about if you added soke great gгaphics or videos to give your posts more, “pop”!
    Your content is excellent but witҺ pics annd
    clips, this blog could undеniably be one of the best in its field.
    Wonderful blog!

    • In answer to your query, my music player doesn’t work, and there are plenty of pictures here if you’ll read more than one post. The problem is, I have a stupid URL, not realizing this would always put me at the bottom of any search engine’s list. If there were a lot of people here, I’d spend more time answering these than writing. When you buy a book, is it just because you like the pictures? Are you new?

  3. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels.

    I will appreciate if you continue this in future. Lots of people will be benefited from your
    writing. Cheers!

    • Are brussels truly informative blog entries? Perhaps in the future, you might try to sound like you haven’t said this exact same thing before… Answer me something will you? If a bike is stationary, where can you go with it?

Leave a Reply

