Half as Brilliant

This is a song I wrote about 30 years ago. It’s on my CD, and we do play it in the band. My songs and poems are very similar, so most of my songs are 3 minutes long or less…  When I find a way to convert my CD to mp3’s I’ll load them up for you to hear…  Meanwhile, lyrics are OK too.  I made this song 30 years ago…  In fact, we are going to be practicing today.  Mark our drummer wants us to play unplugged, outside, so he can get some pictures…  He’s gonna bring a little snare drum out to join us.  Should be a hoot! I’ll keep you informed of our progress: “The Decrepits.”

 

“Half as Brilliant”

 

Wish that I were half as brilliant

As the shining stars above me,

Just to get the world to love me;

It’s quite a lot to ask of you!

 

Wish that I were making progress;

As if I understood this whole mess,

Just to get the world to confess;

It’s quite a lot to ask of you!

 

Quiet eyes of wisdom seem to penetrate us all in all;

Violently, we do protest it,

Silently we must protect it;

As if while standing.

Suddenly we fall!

 

Wish that I were half as loved as;

Many friends I know above me,

Just to get the world to love me;

It’s quite a lot to ask of you…

 

_MG_1994

One thought on “Half as Brilliant

Leave a Reply

