Algonquin Provincial Park

_MG_1003

Algonquin Provincial Park is one of the most beautiful places in the world! From it’s beautiful lakes, rivers and streams, you can park your car at the West side of the park at Canoe Lake or at the East side of the park, at Opeongo Lake. From either spot you can rent a canoe or a motor boat, and follow all the different lakes and inlets to pick out where you and company will camp out in complete solitude from the rest of the world.

Or you can rent a campsite along the main highway 60, for access to electrical outlets, camp sites, firewood, washrooms and showers etc…  Here is a link that explains all about the park itself: http://www.algonquinpark.on.ca/ Almost every scene there takes my breath away!  There are a series of Hotels sprawled along the highway as you near the park entrance.

There a helpful park Ranger will give you a free map of the interior and a guide to the campsite areas and charge you$40 per night for a site allowing 10 people or less.  So that’s not too bad.  It’s less than $20 a night to camp in the interior.  They also have cabins in there.

_MG_0999_c _MG_0999_b

These two pictures are actually the same. I try to follow one rule if I decide to recolor a picture: Make it look as natural as you can, or it will just look gimmicky.

Aside from that, it’s the splendor of the place that really gets to me!  How completely untouched it looks, except for the canoe. Listen to the haunting call of The Loon: “WHOOOOEEEEK!,WHOOOOEEEEK!,WHOOOOEEEEK!”, usually in the early mornings and evenings.  There are Wolves and Moose and Bears, so keep your food secured high in a tree and not in your tent!

_MG_0988

There are quiet places…

I used a 300 mm lens on this one, so I could zoom into spots I can’t readily get to.

I liked the contrast between the still water up front, and the water in motion in the background.

I also wanted to keep the background black so I could emphasize just the part of the picture I wanted to!

Try not to be too picky, because you can always crop it at home if you need to. 

_MG_0945_bIn this picture, I emphasized color.  This is a good technique to really brighten up your pictures and truly make them ‘Pop’ out at you!

People seem to prefer this over the natural look for some reason or other.

All of the pictures in this Blog are 4368 x 2912, so There’s lots of room for cropping. 

What I do is just size them down to the size of my monitor screen and use them on my screen saver as a slide show.  There is a problem though…

_MG_0925_bI, take pride in my pictures!  I had taken these about three (3) years ago.

I took them off disk to give them star ratings: Everything below 4 or 5, I was going to throw away.

Well to my absolute shock and possible coma, “all” of my pictures had become pixelated; that’s when these little pixels and artifacts appear all over your pictures, appearing to ruin them>

Have no fear!  There is a remedy to this problem.  But first, you’ll have to separate what you want to keep from what you want to throw away.

_MG_0831_b

I do crop some pictures just a little if they have dark blue corners.  I can almost never get them out without making the picture look touched up.

This was a beautiful spot we found to rest.  It was a hot summer’s day and this place just looked inviting for a swim and maybe get in a little fishing… 

I can’t tell you the fishing is great in Algonquin because we were where all the campers were, so I don’t doubt you’d have to go much further up the lake, where all the fish are hiding from the people. Too much gas in the water from motor boats and such scares all the fish away.  Yes and it kills some of them too.

_MG_0938_cHere, I have only colored the trees and leaves…

Anyway, to clean up your pictures and restore them to their pristine view, in PaintShop Pro X4, I go into the ‘adjust’ screen.

I magnify to 100% and apply the ‘noise removal’ filter. sliding the adjuster to taste’

If that doesn’t do the trick, there’s an excellent “Unsharp Mask” filter in the edit screen under the “Image” menu.  Inevitably, if you save 8 bit jpegs, they’re going to degrade over time.  If you’re going to give them the once over anyway, you may just as well only save your best shots for editing.

_MG_0490

 Truly you won’t find a better place to camp, hunt or fish.

Just be careful you don’t become the hunted, it’s a big place.  It covers over 60 miles along the main highway, but it’s lake and river system go a long way up north!

They have special trails too, for those hiking enthusiasts who’d like to tackle: “The Western Uplands Trail”, a 70 km. loop that takes 10 days to complete.

So bring a lot of sardines and oranges, trail mix, etc.  Anything for quick snacks along the way.

_MG_1008This was a long exposure; at least 3 minutes.

The place almost speaks to you with a voice of it’s own.

If you are brave or just have a low IQ, you can curl your sleeping bag up by the fire and sleep under the stars.

Bears usually avoid fire, so unless it’s under very rare conditions, you should never be attacked by a bear.  If you are, I don’t know about the playing dead thing.  What if it’s hungry?

Bears can climb trees so that’s not always a great option either.  I suggest running downhill if the opportunity is before you.  Bears have shorter front paws than their back ones.  So when they try to run down hill, their jaws smack against the ground, breaking their stride and allowing you to get away…  Perhaps…  A bear can track you for miles up-wind.

_MG_0800_bJust keep your eyes open for large stool piles, never travel in the woods alone unless your name is Jeremiah Johnson, and make a lot of noise…  Let them know you’re coming, and most likely, they’ll avoid you then.

Get near a mother’s cubs and you are dead meat!

Best thing to do in a situation like that, is just back off slowly.

Usually, if you don’t bother them, they won’t bother you…  What do you think of the above shot?  Doesn’t it make you want to swim?

_MG_0814_bHere we found another perfect fishing spot.  Just no fish.  It’s a good thing I brought sardines so I may partake anyway.

Just look at this place will you?  It certainly is awe inspiring!  On our second day there, we spotted these two huge Condors that took off from between some trees.

Unfortunately my camera was shut down by then.  Isn’t that always the way?

You put your camera away and suddenly the perfect shot is before you…  Grrrrrrrr!

_MG_0803Well I hope you’ve enjoyed our little trek through Algonquin Park?

Perhaps it gives you some idea if you ever want to visit there.

I really spent a long time getting my entire collection in order, but now that it’s finished, the results are well worth it to me!

Taken with one of the best Canon top of the line cameras in the world, The Canon 5D, with extra care to make everything crystal clear.

I even went so far as to adjust shadows and high-lights ensuring only the best quality pictures of this fair country.

_MG_0977I’ve covered about one third of the country so far (1500 kms.)  I plan to eventually cover the entire country.

Considering you can frame these at a fairly large size, The entire Algonquin set includes 50 jpgs., and 50 RAW files

The Raw files are incase you prefer to edit them yourself.  They’re big files, with all the color and high-light information intact.

The files are around 12 megs on average.  Some of them are up to 18 megs. and some are only 8 megs.  It just depends upon how much detail you intend to capture?  HD photos are 32 bit and can run up to 72 megs! 

_MG_0982HD (High Definition) sets cost more because much more is involved.  You need a good, steady tripod, a remote shutter release control, a super focus focusing screen, an excellent lens, the whole 9 yards…

This is because you must take three pictures: One perfectly exposed, one under-exposed by one stop, and one over-exposed by one stop.  Then they are combined, on top of one another and edited that way, expanding your latitude some 4 fold when you edit them RAW…  Much greater detail, especially in the high-lights!

_MG_1002_b

2 thoughts on “Algonquin Provincial Park

  1. Admiring the commitment you put into your blog and detailed information you present.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the
    same outdated rehashed material. Great read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding your RSS feeds to my Google account.

    • Thank you best natural deodorant. That always makes me smile. Thank you for such an uplifting comment! You can be certain I’ll do my very best to keep the flow going here. If you’re interested, I also have another blog at: http//myopinion5.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

