Crisis Provokes Change

Carol Burnett said:  ‘ The written word takes on a life of its own…’  I believe this gives the writer, not only a chance to consider thoughts more deeply, but to describe them with much more detail, color and insight than the experiences we face in life provide for;  Events may occur too quickly, or we may just not understand them at the time.  The written word increases our perception of things and as often as not, it teaches us all that much more about ourselves.

God (where are you now?) sometimes tests our metal.  The object is not to see how strong we are, but to be pushed beyond those limits to bring about spiritual growth and strength of character, usually after much consideration over the matter.  In general, people have trouble seeing the good from despair, injustice, poverty etc…  Yet the lessons we learn are  eye openers, filling us with wisdom to maybe take more precaution in the future, turn bad situations in to more productive ones and crisis may even teach us to engineer our own lives, instead of allowing them to be controlled by others.

Case in point:  I took a girl up north (Algonquin Park) to talk to her about her drinking problem over a few drinks. (Well, I thought it would loosen her up!)  Did it ever!  Suddenly, she starts screaming at the top of her lungs:’ I’M NOT GONNA HAVE SEX WITH YOU!!!  I’M NOT GONNA HAVE SEX WITH YOU!!!’  I never asked her for that!  In fact, I’m 60 years old.  It would take either a miracle or more male hormone then I can afford to get it up at all…  Anyway, that brought every cop for miles!  So I decided to jump in the car and take the DUI rather than an attempted rape charge.  She kept the car and enjoyed the camp site while I spent the night in jail.

I lost my drivers license for good and always because now you have to take a course after a DUI and instal a device that I can’t afford, so that’s the name of that tune.  I had to hitch-hike home in the dark some 300 kms. because the evil witch I was with kept the car an extra day, so nobody could come and pick me up.  Now the fun stuff starts…

I regarded the trip home as more of an adventure than anything else.  I saw all the walking as a chance to get  some exercise in.  And it gave me a lot of time to think about the situation.  I had to pay someone $50 (all I can afford) to drive me up to court in Renfrew (500 kms. away) 6 times, but never had a problem getting someone to do it and used it as an opportunity to get some great pictures on the way.  I got charged because I couldn’t afford a Lawyer and wasn’t allowed to tell my side.  Yet they dropped the probation charge so I chose to see that as a win!

Then the girl next door took pity on me, became my girl friend, moved in and split my expenses with me!  Since then, she drives me wherever I want to go, whenever I want to go there!  That helped me with my $1000 fine too.  So you see?  Out of the ashes of adversity, victory is possible!  Oh!  I almost forgot!  It made me quit drinking too.  What a plus:  Better health!  It all just depends on how you look at it.  Now the whole thing just looks like fun and games to me, and I’ve grown much stronger because of it.  Cheers!  Now I’m happier than I’ve ever been before and I owe it all to rottenness!  Maybe you have some crumby story of your own to share with me?  I’d love to hear from you ;O)

P.S. Have yourselves a great day!

Leave a Reply

